Latest News

Couchman, feeling all Blue

Photo courtesy of: Bryden Sharp Photography (

Another honor for the Couchman twins, this time its Toby.

Toby has been selected in the NSWRL U19’s team to take on Queensland this Thursday night at Leichhartt Oval 

Toby played over 150 games for Thirroul as a junior, starting from the age of 5, mainly in the back-row. He has been a part of 2 Butchers premierships in u/10 & u/11.

2021 was shaping as a great year for the young forward, working his way into a starting backrow spot for the Illawarra Steelers SG Ball squad before suffering a season ending shoulder injury. Toby underwent surgery and was left to offer morale support to twin brother Ryan, who gained selection in the 2021 Australian Schoolboys team.

Toby worked hard on his rehab, and bounced back with a strong start to the 2022 season, this time playing Front Row with Illawarra’s SG Ball team. Couchman played a leading role along side his brother as the young Steelers made the semi-finals, bowing out to eventual premiers Penrith.

Toby has since moved up to the Dragons Jersey Flegg Cup team (u/21’s) where he has strung together several strong performances at Front Row and Lock, culminating in his Origin selection.

Its now brother Ryan’s turn to sit on the side lines and offer morale support to Toby after he to suffered a season ending shoulder injury while playing for our 1st grade team a few weeks back.

The club wishes Toby the best of luck for Thursday night

The game will be shown live Thursday 7.40pm from Leichhardt Oval on Ch 9 & Foxtel.

CABE NSW Under 19s
1. Terrell Kalo Kalo (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
2. Michael Asomua (Canberra Raiders)
3. Paul Alamoti (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
4. Brad Morkos (Canberra Raiders)
5. Jack Bostock (Illawarra Steelers)
6. Tom Weaver (Tweed Seagulls)
7. Jonah Pezet (Melbourne Storm)
8. Max Bradbury (Newcastle Knights)
9. Tyler Moriarty (Sydney Roosters)
10. Justin Matamua (Wests Tigers)
11. Oryn Keeley (Newcastle Knights)
12. Brandon Tumeth (Wests Tigers)
13. Trey Mooney (Canberra Raiders)
14. Jack Cole (Penrith Panthers)
15. Toby Couchman (Illawarra Steelers)
16. Larry Muagututia (Parramatta Eels)
17. Jacob Webster (Illawarra Steelers)
18. Charlie Thompson (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

To Top